Tuna Salad for Carb Girl

Standard

I am a carb person- the rice-potatoes-pasta girl. When I try giving up carbs at dinner, my body goes into withdrawal mode. I get headaches and hunger pangs. So I have given up on giving up carbs. Instead I am trying to have around 4-6 tbsp of brown rice at dinner. Then I load up with meat and veggies so that hunger doesn’t drive me to raid the refrigerator at night. Let’s see how it works.

I made a tuna salad today.

Ingredients:

  • Lettuce chopped, 3 cups
  • 1/2 can of tuna
  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 4-6 tbsp brown rice, cooked
  • 1 egg, hard boiled.

Dressing

  • Olive oil, 2 tbsp
  • Pepper, 1/2 tsp
  • Lime juice, 3 tbspImage
  • salt (to taste)

Mix the lettuce and red onions. Add in the hot rice and tuna. The hot rice will make the lettuce a little mushy. Mix all ingredients of the dressing, pour it into the rice mix and toss well. Chop the egg and mix into the salad. Enjoy!

I had committed myself to making a big salad everyday but I am having a nasty pain in my foot from plantar fasciitis so it has been difficult. I ignored the pain for a while and it only good worse. But I read a Louise Hay article on how we must never criticize ourselves, so I won’t.

I also read a blog today on the virtues of coconut oil for beautiful skin. I feel bad now about the times when I screwed up my nose when my mom would try to massage my hair with coconut oil on Sunday mornings. Always listen to your mom!

I couldn’t take a picture of my salad because its really difficult to take a picture while standing on one leg. But I am posting a picture of last night’s midnight raid on the refrigerator. SIGH !!!

 

Leave a Reply

