Sugar Cravings and A Banana Cinnamon Snack

Standard
Banana-cinnamon snack

Banana-cinnamon snack

Ironies in life are aplenty. I start writing a food blog when I can stomach very little food. My acupuncturist warned, “Less oil, no spices.” Therefore, I am compelled to cook dishes that I can eat without disobeying her. I did text a friend to ask for a healthy marinade for grilled shrimp on skewers which I have been dreaming about since yesterday. She recommended marinating it in lime juice, butter and pepper. My friends are supportive like that. Not only does it NOT fit into my ‘less oil, no spices’ regimen, but now I will think about it for the next two days because it sounds delicious. Such cruelty.

The only way to get through food-deprivation, as with all other curve-balls that life enjoys throwing at us, is to take it one day at a time. The thought that I might have to deny myself spicy chettinad curry for a lifetime is appalling to me. But just for today, I can have bland lentils and rice.

And bananas. I have been snacking on bananas more than ever because they help with my sugar cravings. The simple sugar-free snack turned out so well that L thinks I can serve it to guests for dessert. I would agree, especially since I have lately been hosting very health-conscious guests, who balk at the sight of my home-made kalaakand and go running out of the door when I serve them my khejur gurer payesh. Next time, I warn you: you get bananas.

Serves 2

Ingredients

2 bananas

2 tbsp honey

1/2 tsp cinnamon powder

4 tbsp Greek yoghurt

Method

1. Chop bananas and drizzle them with honey and cinnamon powder.

2. Bake in oven at 180C/350F for 10 minutes.

3. Serve warm with dollops of chilled Greek yoghurt.

P.S. I am working on improving my photography skills. Today, I bought a heart-shaped cookie cutter and went a little crazy on a few strawberries. Sharing my favorite photograph of the day. See you tomorrow 🙂

Feb 10

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

