Easy Breezy Mung Bean Salad

Standard
Mung bean sprouts salad

Mung bean sprouts salad

I couldn’t post yesterday. I had a procedure at the hospital which lasted the whole day. Yet I did manage to rustle up a quick sprouts salad. The procedure had me knocked out for a good two hours. When I finally woke up, the nurse asked me if I wanted to eat something. She gave me options of cheese sandwich and rice porridge. Rice porridge is Chinese comfort food, like our khichdi. But Aunty had packed some peas fried rice for me. Just some rice fried with very little onion with onions, whole cinnamonn, cardamom, clove and a whole bay leaf. When something tastes good even when I just woke up from a chemically-induced stupor, means it goes into my trusted recipe book, my good friend for life. Just in case you are wondering, I am better today.

Here is my recipe for sprouts salad:

Serves 2

Ingredients

1 cup sprouted mung bean

1 tomato, chopped

1 green chilli, deseeded and chopped

Few sprigs of cilantro leaves, chopped

Dressing

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp ginger juice

1 tbsp lime juice

1/2 tsp black pepper

Method

Mix the sprouts with the onion, tomato, cilantro and green chilli. Add the dressing and toss the salad. Its ready to serve.

P.S. I saw a fortune cake at a neigbourhood bakery. The oranges on the cake signify good fortune, the whole fish signify long life and the symbol on the little square tofu representation is the Chinese symbol for wealth.

Fortune Cake for Chinese New Year

Fortune Cake for Chinese New Year

 

 

Leave a Reply

