All or Nothing

Standard

Today is June 1, 2016. Today, I made a commitment to myself to exercise for 2 hours everyday until December 31, 2016.

My weight is hovering between 62-64 kg. My knee hurts when I walk for more than 30 minutes. My lower back hurts if I sit for very long. My neck and shoulder hurt if I work for long on my laptop. I have Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome. My immunity is low–so I have frequent throat infections. My hair is falling and for the first time in my life, I am getting acne.I don’t sleep well at night.

I would get depressed that my body is acting like my enemy. But maybe it is screaming for help. For the first time in 37 years(did I just tell you my age?oopsie), I am turning my attention inward to pay attention to my body. And with a weaker body, my mind has also lost some of its sheen. It has taken years of neglect for my body to reach where it has, so it will take some time to heal. I have decided that I am going to take charge.

EXERCISE: I started with doing yoga for 1 hour. I have an app called Yoga Studio. It cost $5.98. But it teaches each pose step by step without me having to step out of my house for yoga class. I have been doing around 15 minutes everyday. Today, I did a beginner combination series–it includes poses for flexibility, back pain, strength, balance and relaxation. Well, its a start.

FOOD: I gave up sugar today.

GRATITUDE: I read a Quora response by an online gamer who was one of the top gamers of the world in 2007. Someone asked what it takes to be the best in the world? He listed out how he sacrificed going to high school, sleep, food and even going to prom so that he could become world number 1 player in a video game.Though I am not one for extreme measures, something he wrote struck a chord with me. He said “All or nothing. You have to sacrifice everything to be at the top of the world.”  I don’t know whether I want to be the best in the world, but I do want to be the best in MY world. I am grateful for lessons learnt from random places.

There. I just posted a lesson learnt from a sleep-deprived, prom-sacrificing video gamer in my first post on commitment and responsibility and stuff. This alone guarantees the future success of my blog.

 

Leave a Reply

